Foreign partners behind recent chip, component and defence projects
The companies below are public examples drawn from Government of India announcements and press reports. Sizes are project investment as announced by the Government of India. The home country is shown only where the source states it.
| Company | Home country | What | Where | Value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foxconn, joint venture with HCL | Taiwan | Semiconductor unit designed for 20,000 wafers a month | Near Jewar airport (YEIDA), Uttar Pradesh | ₹3,700 crore | Cabinet approval, 14 May 2025 | PIB, 14 May 2025 |
| Clas-SiC Wafer Fab, with SiCSem | UK | India’s first commercial compound (silicon carbide) semiconductor fab | Info Valley, Bhubaneswar, Odisha | Part of four units totalling about ₹4,600 crore | Cabinet approval, 12 Aug 2025 | PIB, 12 Aug 2025 |
| APACT Co., technology partner of ASIP Technologies | South Korea | Semiconductor manufacturing unit with annual capacity of 96 million units | Andhra Pradesh | Part of the same ₹4,600 crore approval | Cabinet approval, 12 Aug 2025 | PIB, 12 Aug 2025 |
| Foxconn and Samsung, reported among the applicants with Dixon and Tata Electronics | Taiwan (Foxconn); not stated for Samsung | Among 22 electronic component projects approved in the third ECMS tranche | Eight states | ₹41,863 crore across all 22 projects | 2 Jan 2026 | NeGD (MeitY) and All India Radio, 2 Jan 2026; Free Press Journal, Jan 2026 |
| Safran Electronics & Defence, with BEL | France | 50:50 joint venture company to produce the HAMMER precision-guided air-to-ground weapon in India | India (location not stated) | Not disclosed | JV agreement, 24 Nov 2025 | PIB (Ministry of Defence), 24 Nov 2025 |
Other companies named in the brochure
| Company | Home country | Context | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saab | Not stated | The first company approved at 100% foreign ownership in defence manufacturing under the Government route | DPIIT Consolidated FDI Policy 2020; Invest India Defence page |
| Foxconn | Taiwan | Earlier Tamil Nadu plant investment of USD 194 million, cited as a reference only | Gulf News (Reuters), 31 Jul 2023 |
| Tiger Global | Not stated | Supreme Court decision of January 2026 applying GAAR to deny a treaty capital gains exemption; relevant to exit planning, not to a manufacturing project | KPMG TaxNewsFlash, 20 Jan 2026; Khaitan & Co, 16 Jan 2026 |
Indian partners named alongside foreign investors: HCL (with Foxconn), SiCSem (with Clas-SiC), ASIP Technologies (with APACT), BEL (with Safran), and Dixon and Tata Electronics (reported ECMS applicants).
Reading the table
- Semiconductors. The three semiconductor approvals of 2025 sit within the twelve units, with over ₹1.64 lakh crore of investment, that had been approved by July 2026 (PIB, 15 Jul 2026). Semicon 2.0, notified on 31 August 2026, now covers new fab, packaging, equipment and materials projects: see central incentives.
- Electronic components. The third ECMS tranche of January 2026 is part of 46 projects in 11 states approved by February 2026; 31 further projects worth ₹7,877 crore were approved in August 2026. The components window is now closed; only supply-chain and capital-equipment applications are taken, to April 2027.
- Defence. The Safran–BEL venture is a 50:50 structure. Defence FDI is automatic up to 74% and Government route above that, with a declaration duty on new investment up to 49% in existing licensees: see FDI rules.
- States. Uttar Pradesh (YEIDA), Odisha (Info Valley) and Andhra Pradesh host the semiconductor projects; the ECMS tranche spans eight states. State packages are compared under state incentives.
Note: These are public examples only. Announced project sizes are Government of India figures at approval and may differ from the amounts eventually invested.
What to check next
- Treat announced values as approval-stage figures and confirm the current status of any project you benchmark against.
- If you are a component supplier to one of these projects, check whether the ECMS supply-chain and capital-equipment window (to April 2027) covers your product.
- For a defence partnership, map the equity structure against the 74% automatic cap and the 30-day declaration rule.
- Review the state policy of the host state before assuming the same package is available for a new project.