Announcements since December 2025
The companies below are public examples drawn from press reports. All were already operating in India when they announced the plans listed. Amounts are as announced by the companies and reported by Reuters, Business Standard, Inc42 and IBEF; they are plans, not completed investments.
| Company | Home country | What | Where | Value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IKEA | Sweden | More stores (from six to 30), online orders in new cities and more local sourcing over the next five years | India (national) | India investment to more than double, to over ₹20,000 crore | Jan 2026 | Reuters (via FashionNetwork), 20 Jan 2026 |
| Amazon | United States | Digital infrastructure, AI adoption and e-commerce exports, with a goal of USD 80 bn of exports by 2030 | India (national) | Over USD 35 bn by 2030 | Dec 2025 | IBEF E-commerce page, retrieved 1 Oct 2026 |
| Amazon | United States | Amazon Now quick commerce to 100 cities and over 1,000 micro-fulfilment centres, as part of a wider investment | 100 cities | ₹2,800 crore | Apr 2026 | Inc42, 27 Apr 2026 |
| Unilever, via Hindustan Unilever | United Kingdom | Manufacturing expansion in premium beauty, wellbeing and home care | India (sites not stated) | ₹2,000 crore over two years | Feb 2026 | Business Standard, 19 Feb 2026 |
Other named examples
| Company | Home country | What | Where | Value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lush | Not stated | Re-entered India through a licensing partner, an entry route that needs no FDI | India | Not stated | Nov 2025 | IBEF (Lush) |
Note: Amazon’s USD 35 bn announcement of December 2025 also appears in the technology and SaaS brochure. Count it once in any aggregate.
What the examples show
- Stores and local sourcing. IKEA’s plan combines new stores, online expansion and more local sourcing. For a single-brand retailer with more than 51% FDI, local sourcing is also a condition: 30% of the value of goods purchased must come from India (see FDI rules).
- Logistics and fast delivery. Amazon’s quick-commerce expansion rests on micro-fulfilment centres. Warehousing and cold chains attract state support in Uttar Pradesh and Haryana (see state incentives).
- E-commerce exports. Amazon’s USD 80 bn export goal sits alongside Invest India’s USD 200–300 bn e-commerce export target for 2030, and the Press Note 3 (2026) change that lets FDI-funded marketplaces hold inventory for export from 3 September 2026.
- Manufacturing by consumer groups. The Hindustan Unilever expansion is manufacturing, not retail; central incentives in this sector favour brands that make in India (see central incentives).
- No-FDI entry. Lush shows the licensing route: no foreign investment, but the stores stay with the Indian partner.
What to check next
- Treat the amounts above as announced plans; confirm progress with the company’s own disclosures before relying on them.
- Where retail leasing is part of the plan, note that leasing in the top seven cities reached a record of about 8.9 million sq ft in 2025.
- Check the FDI route for the model you plan to follow, since a marketplace, a single-brand store chain and a manufacturing plant each sit under different rules.
- If exports are the aim, read the inventory-export condition in Press Note 3 (2026) and the FEMA amendment of 2 September 2026.