Public examples since 2024
The companies below are named in public announcements or press reports. They appear here only as public examples of how foreign makers are entering or expanding in India; none is a client reference. Amounts are as stated by the source and have not been converted or audited.
| Company | Home country | What | Where | Value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VinFast | Vietnam | EV assembly plant; starting capacity 50,000 vehicles a year, scalable to 150,000 | SIPCOT Industrial Park, Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu | USD 2 bn, starting with a USD 500 mn phase | Inaugurated 4 Aug 2025 | VinFast press release, 4 Aug 2025; KNN India, 24 Apr 2025 |
| Hyundai Motor | South Korea | Investment plan for Hyundai Motor India, set out at its first Investor Day; exports to reach up to 30% of production | India (Hyundai Motor India) | ₹45,000 crore by FY2030 | Reported 15 Oct 2025 | The Machine Maker, 15 Oct 2025 |
| Suzuki Motor | Japan | Investment in India over the next five to six years | India | ₹70,000 crore | 26 Aug 2025 | DD News, 26 Aug 2025 |
| Toyota Motor | Japan | New Toyota Kirloskar Motor plant for 100,000 vehicles a year; production planned from the first half of 2029 | Bidkin industrial area, Maharashtra | ₹20,000 crore (MoU with Maharashtra, 31 Jul 2024) | 11 May 2026 | Toyota Motor Corporation, 11 May 2026; All India Radio, 1 Aug 2024 |
| Toyoda Gosei | Japan | New plant for bumpers, instrument panels and airbags, supporting Toyota’s expansion; production from the first half of 2029 | Bidkin, Maharashtra | About ₹576 crore (JPY 9.3 billion) | 24 Sep 2026 | Toyoda Gosei, 24 Sep 2026 |
| Tesla | Not stated in the source | Entered through showrooms and imported cars rather than local manufacturing | India | Not stated | Aug 2026 (source date) | Sustainable Futures, Aug 2026 |
What the examples show
- Two routes in. VinFast, Toyota and Toyoda Gosei are building plants; Tesla has so far entered through showrooms and imported cars. The set-up roadmap is written for a maker that starts with imports and moves to local manufacturing.
- Clusters. Two of the five plant announcements are at Bidkin in Maharashtra, where Toyota’s supplier is co-locating; VinFast chose the SIPCOT park at Thoothukudi in Tamil Nadu. Both states’ packages are on the state incentives page.
- Export plans. Hyundai expects exports to reach up to 30% of its India production, which fits the record passenger vehicle exports of 905,000 units in FY2025-26 reported by SIAM.
- Suppliers follow carmakers. Toyoda Gosei’s plant supports Toyota’s expansion and starts production in the same half-year.
Other companies named in the brochure
These are Indian scheme beneficiaries rather than foreign investors, listed for completeness:
- Ola / Ola Cell: awarded 20 GWh under PLI ACC; the only cell plant built by January 2026 (1 GWh, in pilot production since March 2024) (PIB, MHI Year End Review, 13 Jan 2026).
- Reliance entities: awarded 5 GWh and 10 GWh under PLI ACC.
- ACC Energy Storage: awarded 5 GWh under PLI ACC.
- Toyota Kirloskar Motor and Hyundai Motor India are the Indian operating companies in the Toyota and Hyundai rows above.
See central incentives for the PLI ACC terms.
What to check next
- Read the original announcement before relying on a figure; values here are as the source stated them, and MoU amounts can differ from later announcements.
- Check which state and park each example chose and compare the package on the state incentives page.
- Note the production start dates (first half of 2029 for Bidkin) when planning supplier timelines.
- Look at FDI data for the sector-level inflow figures behind these examples.